2024 All-State Jazz Band May 2-4, 2024

The 3rd Annual Combined All-State Jazz Band & Show Choir was held at the Johnson Fine Arts Center on the Northern State University campus in Aberdeen. A total of 47 students were selected for membership in the two big bands and one combo. A total of 53 students were selected for membership in the Show Choir.

The following schools were represented in the jazz bands:

SF Lincoln, Huron, O'Gorman, Mitchell, RC Central, SF Washington, Aberdeen Central, Brookings, SF Christian, Brandon Valley, SF Roosevelt, Harrisburg, West Central, Mitchell Christian, RC Stevens, St. Thomas More, Belle Fourche

The following schools were represented in the show choir:

O'Gorman, SF Washington, Aberdeen Central, SF Jefferson, Mitchell, Dell Rapids, RC Central, RC Stevens, Huron, Lake Preston, Tea Area

SOUTH DAKOTA ALL-STATE JAZZ BAND & SHOW CHOIR Listing of concert sites and guest clinicians

DATE CITY GUEST CLINICIANS

1989	Vermillion	Gene Aitken, University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, CO
1990	Vermillion	Fred Sturm, Lawrence University, Appleton, WI
1991	Brookings	Dr. Robert Washut, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA
1992	Brookings	Dr. Don Owens, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
1993	Aberdeen	Scott Prebys, University of Mary, Bismarck, ND
		Tim Daugherty, Bill Davis & Dennis McPartland Cedar Rapids, IA
1994	Aberdeen	Willie Thomas, Austin, TX
		Scott Prebys, Chris Brucker & Ryan Brucker, University of Mary, Bismarck, ND
1995	Aberdeen	Steve Wiest, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, WI
		Jim Mair, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Kansas City, KS
		Willie Thomas, Austin, TX
1996	Aberdeen	Steve Wiest, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, WI
		Denis DiBlasio, Rowan University, Camden, NJ
		Willie Thomas, Austin, TX
1997	Aberdeen	Willie Thomas, Austin, TX
		Denis DiBlasio, Rowan University, Camden, NJ
		Frank Mantooth, DePaul University, Chicago, IL
1998	Aberdeen	Matt Harris, California State University, Northridge, CA
		Jeff Jarvis, California State University, Long Beach, CA
		Scott Prebys, University of Mary, Bismarck, ND
1999	Aberdeen	Steve Wiest, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, WI
		Glenn Kostur, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
•		Pat Harbison, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
2000	Aberdeen	Tom Brantley, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
		Mike Hackett, New York, NY
2001	41 1	Jim Mair, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Kansas City, KS
2001	Aberdeen	Robert Baca, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, WI
		Jack Wilkins, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
		Grant Manhart, Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD,
2002	A 1 J	Fred Elwein, SD School of Mines, Rapid City, SD
2002	Aberdeen	Jay Coble, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL Matt Harris, California State University, Northridge, CA
		Bob Pestke, University of Mary, Bismarck ND
2003	Aberdeen	Chuck Owen, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
2003	Aberdeen	Dean Sorenson, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
		Rodney Lancaster, Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD
2004	Aberdeen	Chris Vadala, University of Maryland, College Park, MD
2004	noerdeen	Phil Ostrander, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, WI
		Fred Hemke, Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD
2005	Aberdeen	Fred Sturm, Lawrence University Conservatory of Music, Appleton, WI
2000	1100100011	Ron Keezer, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, WI
		Robert Lark, DePaul University, Chicago, IL
2006	Aberdeen	Dave Hagedorn, St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN
		Reggie Thomas, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, IL
		Matt Wallace, Omaha, NE
2007	Aberdeen	Matt Harris, California State University, Northridge, CA
		Scott Prebys, University of Mary, Bismarck, ND
		Michael B. Nelson, Minneapolis, MN

SOUTH DAKOTA ALL-STATE JAZZ BAND Listing of concert sites and guest clinicians (continued)

DATE CITY GUEST CLINICIANS

2008	Aberdeen	Chris Vadala, University of Maryland, College Park, MD
		Pat Harbison, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
		Laura Caviani, Carleton College, St Olaf College, Minneapolis, MN
2009	Aberdeen	Fred Sturm, Lawrence Conservatory of Music, Appleton, WI
		Patty Darling, Lawrence Conservatory of Music, Appleton, WI
		Mike Tomaro, Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA
2010	Aberdeen	Eric Richards, University of Nebraska at Lincoln, Lincoln, NE
		Matthew Patnode North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND
		Ellen Rowe, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
2011	Aberdeen	Jeff Rupert – University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL
		Sean Parsons – Marshall University, Huntington, WV
		Scott Prebys – Bismarck, ND
2012	Aberdeen	Michael Philip Mossman – NYC Aaron Copland School of Music, New York, NY
2012		Dean Sorenson – University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
		Dave Stanoch – McNally Smith College of Music – Minneapolis, MN
2013	Aberdeen	Dennis McDermott – Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD
2010		Matt Niess – Levittown, PA
		Karyn Quinn – University of Wisconsin, La Crosse
		Dr. Steve Wright – Minnetonka, MN
2014	Aberdeen	Tom Brantley – University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
		Laura Cavaini – Carleton College & St. Olaf College – Northfield, MN
		Rex Richardson – Virginia Commonwealth University – Richmond, VA
		Gary Smulyan – Amherst College – Amherst, MA
2015	Rapid City	Alan Baylock— Centreville, VA
2015	Rupia City	Jay Young— McNally Smith College of Music—Minneapolis, MN
		Doug Woolverton—Newport, RI
		Harry Allen—New York, NY
2016	Aberdeen	William Flynn—Wichita, KS
2010	Aberdeen	Adam Meckler—Minneapolis, MN
		Bob Reynolds—Los Angeles, CA
2017	Aberdeen	Dan Miller—Estero, Florida
2017	Aberdeen	Matt Otto—Kansas City, MO
		Steve Wiest—Denver, CO
2018	Aberdeen	John Kizilarmut—Kansas City, MO
2018	Aberdeen	Grant Manhart—Northern State University, Aberdeen, SD
2010	Duandan	Tommy Poole—Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK Doug Woolverton—Los Angeles, CA
2019	Brandon	Matt Wilson—New York, NY
2020		Tracy Heavner—University of South Alabama, Mobile, AL
2020	CANCELLED DU	
2021	Mitchell	Adam Larson—University of Missouri, Kansas City Conservatory
		Kris Berg—Collin County Community College, Texas
2022	D 1.	Matt Niess—Levittown, PA
2022	Brookings	James Pisano—Wichita State Univesity, Wichita Kansas (Big Band)
		Marcus Lewis—University of Missouri, Kansas City (Combo)
		Ben Markley—University of Wyoming, Laramie Wyoming (Big Band)
		Peter Eklund—University of Nebraska (Vocal Show Choir Clinician)
		Ben Eklund—Lincoln Nebraska (Show Choir Choreographer)

SOUTH DAKOTA ALL-STATE JAZZ BAND Listing of concert sites and guest clinicians (continued)

DATE	CITY	GUEST CLINICIANS
2023	Rapid City	Nate Nall – Kansas City, MO (combo) Dan Gailey – University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS (big band) Annie Booth – University of Denver, Denver, CO (big band) Victoria Brindis – Portland, OR (Show Choir Choreographer) Brian Johnson – Council Bluffs, IA (Show Choir Vocal Clinician)
2024	Aberdeen	Willie Murillo, LasAngeles, CA (combo) Dr. Sean Parsons, Ohio University (big band) Jeff Rupert – University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL (big band) Kevin Chase – Ankeny, IA (Show Choir Choreographer) Luke Warren, MN (Show Choir Vocal Clinician)